There is no such thing as “talent”.

In my opinion, there is no such thing as talent. It’s just that some people are fast learners. Others are just naturally interested or drawn to something. Some people have extreme brain power. And yet others are lucky enough to have all of the above. But there is no such thing as talent.

“Talent” oversimplifies something that is so incredibly complex. As if you can make music or art or dance or ANYTHING by magic. It takes so much effort and so many hours of work for someone to get to the level that ordinary people would consider “talent”.

Lack of talent is used as an excuse for those too lazy to try. It’s a big loss that some people just give up because after two or three tries that they didn’t do too well, they conclude that they don’t have any talent. Even when the “talented” are so because they’ve failed thousands of times.

I wasn’t born drawing. I liked it, I persisted, I tried harder even during the times when I didn’t like it so much. I could probably learn to sing and dance too, if I put as many hours in it as I did drawing. But I’d really rather not. That I don’t know how to sing and dance is nobody’s fault but mine, and not that of some simple construct called “talent”.

2 thoughts on “There is no such thing as “talent”.

    • Hehe, don’t worry about it! 🙂
      Talent is a useful word to describe all the stuff it takes to get good at something. It’s just frustrating when people say “I could never do this because I don’t have the talent!” because neither did I (nor anyone else) when we started out…

Leave a comment