Image

International Day of Peace 2014: The Right of Peoples to Peace

The International Day of Peace, held every September 21st, is very special to me. I started my current job in August of 2012, at first clueless about peacebuilding and what it entails. I guess I was hired for my technical skills, and not in any way because of either social awareness or passion in the field. (Or perhaps because my own father did have social awareness and passion in the field and the reputation kind-of rubbed off.) Eventually, I did acquire both. Or at least, I hope I did.

That said, I consider my first International Day of Peace Celebration in Aleosan, North Cotabato as my birth into peacebuilding work. I was about one month into the job, but when you’re in this field you will never truly “get it” until you’ve been immersed into the community. And the International Day of Peace, our lovely Cambodian intern, Chariya, and the art workshop she organized for the youth there all paved the way for my immersion. For last year’s celebration, I also made an illustrated banner for the celebration in Gingoog City

This year’s theme is “The Rights of Peoples to Peace”. This is quite relevant here in Mindanao, where years of historical injustice have caused peoples to be marginalized, and the effect is that until now many of us still live in volatile and conflict-affected situations. My special prayer for this year is the passage of the Bangsamoro Basic Law, which I believe is, in a nutshell, one step further to inclusiveness and addressing many of the issues brought about by that historical injustice. But that’s another long story I’ll save for later, when I have the time to tell it in a way that does it its true justice!

Like last year’s banner, this year’s was illustrated with ink and paper, scanned, and then colored in Photoshop Elements. I’m not super 100% happy with the results, but when I saw it printed I think I can live with it. Fonts used are Great VibesGobold and Nymphette.

So how are you celebrating the International Day of Peace this year? I’ll tell you all about mine when I come back home!

Bonus, WIP shot: (Where anyone who knows Photoshop can see that the making of this banner was actually rushed and poorly planned)

1-Untitled-1

5 thoughts on “International Day of Peace 2014: The Right of Peoples to Peace

    • Thank you! Ah, yes, I was using a really slow one myself until just last year. And even now, I only use Photoshop Elements (it’s lighter and came free with the tablet) and not the full thing to avoid lag.
      You could try pixel art if you still want to make stuff on the computer, though. You only really need MS Paint or some other light program (I like Graphics Gale). That’s what I used to do when I didn’t have any “real” art stuff of my own.

Leave a Reply

