Image

ART JOURNAL 6/7/2014: KUSINA + GULAY

Warning: This post is a bit rambly!

I haven’t posted in over a month! But that’s only because May has been such a crazy, crazy month. In a good way.

The beginning of May marked a super exciting vacation to Dapitan City with high school friends. At the end of the first week, was the Balay Mindanaw Anniversary (which resulted in quite a few sleepless nights). And then there was a lot of scurrying to get some stuff done before I had to leave again for the Mindanao Peacebuilding Institute for their Fundamentals of Peacebuilding and Arts Approaches to Community-based Peacebuilding Courses. MPI was one of the most amazing experiences in my life! (But all that is for another post, because this one wouldn’t do it justice.) May also marked the end of Sketchbook Skool. (I should write a review or something on it… because I just cannot recommend it enough to those who want to learn how to draw!)

And then, in my classic fashion of burn-myself-out-and-then-crash-so-hard, I got sick with what was either a virus or the worst allergies of my life (the doctor couldn’t tell).  I spent a few days in the hospital and then was sent on a long home rest. I did try to work in between, but the symptoms kept recurring and I had to take antihistamines that knocked me out cold. Maybe he doctor was right about the bedrest. And that, my friends, is how I ended up spending most of my few waking moments getting all the achievements in Kingdom Rush:

kingdomrush

And a 2048:

2048e

Today, I was feeling a bit better. But a lot of bedrest and too much videogames did leave my brain dull. Fortunately, some lovely person from Sketchbook Skool invited me to Summer Skool (which are basically student-driven homework to tide us over while waiting for the next klass). *

The theme was “color”. I’m pretty sure it was just an excuse for everyone to sling a multitude of clashing colors into a sheet of paper until it got all soggy. Naturally, I took on that opportunity. And I drew my kitchen. (see above)

See, Tommy Kane’s homework for the last Sketchbook Skool Klass was to draw our kitchens. But as you can see in my narrative above, I was nowhere near my kitchen for the entire period. And so, I drew a few places in the hotel, which unfortunately didn’t turn out very well because I only had time to draw in the evenings… And the hotel seemed to like turning the lights off early. I never quite felt my Tommy Kane Klass homework was quite done because (a) I never drew my kitchen, and (b) I never spent hours and hours on a single sketch. I decided to make up for that today. Although I still will do a detailed ink sketch of my kitchen soon for good measure.

I definitely knew I wanted to sling paint all over the page like crazy. But I also did know I want to draw some real stuff fairly accurately. So I mixed the two.

Of the stuff I drew, worth noting is the jar of green stuff between the (oversized) plum tomatoes. It’s called Kangki and I have just discovered it last month. But it’s this amazing sort of paste made with small native sibujing onions, chili, garlic, olive oil, salt and wild honey. I love it so much but I can’t find it anywhere other than this eatery in Impasug-ong. (Admittedly, though, it comes in only second to the even more amazing traditional Maranao side dish called palapa.)

And while we’re on the subject of amazing cooking, here’s another page from klass featuring some of my favorite vegetables (plus favorite spice):

1-IMG_4584-001

* the seemingly inappropriate ‘K’s are intended.

7 thoughts on “ART JOURNAL 6/7/2014: KUSINA + GULAY

  1. I love painting/drawing/sketching too.. and your sketchs are reaally cool.. I love it.. ♥♥♥
    I wanna know how to make it 🙂 i wanna learn about it.. would you teach meee pleaase?.. 🙂
    (Sorry.. i’m not really good on speaking english.. :3)

    • Hello muthmutt! I’m glad you like my work, and I’m even more glad that you love sketching and painting too!
      I’m not an expert so I don’t know if I can teach you much… But I find that one of the best ways to learn is to keep a sketchbook and drawing every day. If you want to be sketch buddies, that would be awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

