I miss you

Tu me manque.

That’s “I miss you” in French. But it’s also a very interesting way of saying “I miss you.” Because if you translate it literally means “You are lacking/missing from me.” It always sounded as if that person were quite physically torn from you and you feel you want them back. As in an amputation. And you were experiencing phantom limb pain.

Which brings us to another interesting way of saying “I miss you.”

Gimingaw ko nimu.

Many native Visayan-speaking people (of which I am not) take this phrase for granted. But I have long been trying to deconstruct it. Because one of its most interesting features is that “mingaw” means lonely or quiet. But then it’s used as a verb. In Visayan sentence construction, I figure it’s used in the same way “gikapoy ko nimu” means “I’m tired of you.”

Which would mean (maybe?) that “gimingaw ko nimu” actually translates as “I am lonely for you.” I am lonely because you’re not here. As if that person would be the one thing that could fill the silence and loneliness in the air. As if that person’s very presence could instantly lift the mood and fill the air with laughter and contentment.

Interesting how sometimes you have to use an entirely different language to say exactly what you mean.

Leave a Reply

